Dr. Marcelle Cedars Sworn in as New President of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine


Dr. Marcelle Cedars Sworn in as New President of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine


New Vice President and Board Members Announced

Marcelle Cedars, M.D., has become President of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) effective October 20, 2021. Dr. Cedars is Professor and Director of the Division of Reproductive Endocrinology at the University of California, San Francisco.

A national leader in research on ovarian aging and assisted reproductive technologies, Dr. Cedars has been a standing member of NIH study sections and has served on international study sections for Canada and Europe. She has made many contributions to ASRM, including serving on the Board of Directors from 2011 to 2014.

Dr. Cedars received her medical training at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas. She completed a residency in obstetrics and gynecology at Parkland Health & Hospital System, followed by a fellowship in reproductive endocrinology at the University of California, Los Angeles.

She succeeds ASRM President Hugh Taylor, M.D., Professor and Chair of the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences at Yale.

Dr. Paula Amato Elected ASRM Vice President

Paula Amato, M.D., Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU), has been elected Vice President of ASRM and will become the organization’s President in 2023. At OHSU, Dr. Amato serves as Director of the Third-Party Reproduction Program and is an Associate Research Scientist in the Center for Embryonic Cell and Gene Therapy.

Dr. Amato received her medical degree from the University of Toronto, where she also completed her Residency in Obstetrics & Gynecology. She subsequently completed a Fellowship in Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility at the University of California, San Diego. She also has a Master of Clinical Research degree from OHSU.

Dr. Amato has served as Chair of the ASRM Ethics and Publications Committees and previously as a member of the ASRM Board of Directors. Her research interests focus on translational applications of germline gene therapy such as mitochondrial replacement therapy and human genome editing.

New Board Members

Kim Thornton, M.D., Reproductive Endocrinologist and Infertility Specialist at Reproductive Medicine Associates of New York (Director at Large)

Akanksha Mehta, M.D., Assistant Professor of Urology at Emory University School of Medicine and Director of Male Reproductive Health. (Director at Large)

SART President Timothy Hickman, M.D., Associate Professor of Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology at Houston Methodist

SMRU President Philip S. Li, M.D., Professor of Research in Urology at Weill Cornell

SRBT President Liesl Nel-Themaat, Ph.D., IVF Lab Director and Assistant Professor at the University of Colorado.

SREI President Micah J. Hill, D.O., Director of Research and Medical Student Clerkship at Walter Reed and Assistant Professor of OB/GYN at the Uniformed Services University.

SRS President Kathleen Hwang, M.D., Associate Professor in the Department of Urology, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine.