ASRM Announces New Board Members and Affiliated Society Presidents


ASRM Announces New Board Members and Affiliated Society Presidents

ASRM is delighted to announce the new affiliated society presidents and new directors joining the Board.

Paul Lin, M.D. (president of SART) is an Obstetrician/Gynecologist and subspecializes in Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility. He works as Medical Director of the surgery center at Seattle Reproductive Medicine, specializing in reproductive surgery and is the only IVF specialist who still performs tubal reversals. His awards include the Prize Video Award at the 58th Annual Meeting of the ASRM for Transvaginal Ultrasound-Guided Embryo Transfer, Outstanding Teaching Fellow from the University of Louisville Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Special Excellence in Endoscopic Procedure by the American Association of Gynecologic Laparoscopists, and Outstanding Resident Surgeon by the Society of Laparoendoscopic Surgeons. He was also recognized as a Seattle Top Doc in 2011, 2012, and 2013.

Ruben Alvero, M.D. (president of SREI) is director of the Division of Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility (REI) in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Women & Infants Hospital of Rhode Island and is a professor at The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University. His clinical interests include IVF, polycystic ovary syndrome, endometriosis and robotic surgery; and his research interests include non-invasive evaluation of embryo quality, cost-effectiveness analysis, and the role of critical thinking in medical education. He has been named one of the Best Doctors in America by Best Doctors Inc. since 2005 and The Council in Residency Education in Obstetrics and Gynecology awarded him its National Faculty Award for Excellence three times. He has been NIH-funded, most recently as part of the Reproductive Medicine Network.

Natan Bar-Chama, M.D. (president of SMRU) is Director of the Center of Male Reproductive Health at RMA of New York. He specializes exclusively in the fields of male infertility and sexual medicine. He was awarded the New York Academy of Medicine F.C. Valentine Fellowship and has been listed annually since 2005 in New York Magazine’s Best Doctor list of Urologists.

Steven Lindheim, M.D. (president of SRS) is an obstetrician-gynecologist in Dayton, Ohio and is affiliated with Miami Valley Hospital. He is the Director of the Wright State Univ Integrated OB/GYN Residency Program. His major interests are in vitro fertilization, oocyte donation, embryo donation, reproductive ethics, operative laparoscopy and hysteroscopy. He is an ACOG fellow and was awarded  the Patients’ Choice Award in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and then the Patients’ Choice 5th Anniversary Award in 2012.
Shane Zozula, B.S. (president of SRBT) is a Senior Embryologist who specializes in andrology and is currently at the Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine. His research interests are focused on applied aspects of Embryology in an ART Lab aimed at validating and optimizing embryo culture and vitrification systems. He is a 2012 CRB Research award winner.
Marcelle Cedars, M.D. (Vice-President of ASRM) is the Director of the UCSF Center for Reproductive Health and Director of their Reproductive Endocrinology department. Cedars received her medical training at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School. She completed a residency in obstetrics and gynecology at Parkland Health & Hospital System and did her fellowship in reproductive endocrinology at the University of California, Los Angeles. Her specialties are in caring for patients going through IVF and perimenopause. She has been named several times one of America’s Top Doctors. In her research, she focuses on ovarian aging and how it affects both fertility and women’s overall health.

Amy Sparks, Ph.D., H.C.L.D. (Director) is the Immediate Past President of  SART, the Society for Assisted Reproductive Technology. She is the Lab Director for the University of Iowa’s In Vitro Fertilization and Reproductive Testing Laboratories and Clinical Assistant Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology/Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility at UI. She earned her Ph.D. in Animal Sciences and Reproductive Physiology from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University and is licensed and Certificated a High Complexity Laboratory Director by the American Board of Bioanalysis.

Lee Rubin Collins, J.D. (Director) was a trial attorney and partner at Ropes & Gray, and earned her undergraduate degree from Harvard College and her J.D. from Harvard Law School. She is on the RESOLVE Board of Directors, where she also served from 2002-2012 and was the Chair of the Board in 2012. Much of her work with RESOLVE has been to improve insurance coverage for infertility treatments and to defeat state legislative efforts such as “personhood” bills that would interfere with IVF and other needed treatments. Lee is passionate about infertility, both writing and speaking regularly about it. She has received a number of awards, including RESOLVE’s Barbara Eck Founders Award in 2014. She has been on the Board of the Jones Institute Foundation in Norfolk, VA, since 2004 and was on the Board of RESOLVE of the Bay State, 2001-2009.

ASRM is a multidisciplinary organization dedicated to the advancement of the science and practice of reproductive medicine. The Society accomplishes its mission through the pursuit of excellence in education and research and through advocacy on behalf of patients, physicians, and affiliated health care providers. The Society is committed to facilitating and sponsoring educational activities for the lay public and continuing medical education activities for professionals who are engaged in the practice of and research in reproductive medicine.